Victorian Curriculum

The Victorian Curriculum sets out the expected levels of learning for all children as they progress through Victorian schools. These are based upon the Austrlain Curriculum. Listen below are the Learning Area and Capabilities contained in the curriculum itself. For a detailed view of the curriculum please see the link below

Please click here to be taken to the Victorian Curriculum website

The subjects are as follows:




  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Media Arts
  • Music
  • Visual Arts
  • Visual Communication Design


     HEALTH & PHYSICAL EDUCATION                              


  • Civics and Citizenship
  • Economics and Business
  • Geography
  • History



  • Design and Technologies
  • Digital Technologies
  • Critical and creative thinking
  • Ethical
  • Intercultural 
  • Personal and Social 


Structure of the curriculum

The overall structure of the curriculum is consistent across learning areas and includes the following elements:

  • A rationale that explains the place and purpose of the learning area in the school curriculum
  • Aims that identify the major learning that students will be able to demonstrate as a result of learning from the curriculum
  • An organisation overview that details how the curriculum in the learning area will be organised
  • Content descriptions that specify what teachers are expected to teach
  • Achievement standards that describe the quality of learning typically expected of students
  • General capabilities that describe a set of skills, behaviours and dispositions that apply across subject-based content
  • Cross-curriculum priorities that ensure the Victorian Curriculum is relevant to the lives of students and addresses the contemporary issues they face.